13 – Roll of Honorary Graduates

Discovery Trail 13 (Eastern Gateway Building Display Cabinets, University Archives)

13 Archives 24A

Franco Nero’s signature

Brunel awarded its first honorary degrees on 24 November 1966 at the installation of Lord Halsbury as Chancellor at Hammersmith Town Hall.

The degree of Doctor of Technology was conferred on the new Chancellor Lord Halsbury, along with Lord Brown, Pro-Chancellor of the University; Lord Kings Norton, Chairman of the Council for National Academic Awards; Sir Anthony Part, Under‑Secretary (later Deputy Secretary) at the Ministry of Education who had been deeply involved in the development of the Colleges of Advanced Technology; and Mrs Muriel Forbes, a Governor of Brunel College (Chairman 1960-61) nominated by the Middlesex County Council.

Since 1966, Brunel has conferred over 300 honorary degrees to a variety of individuals, from politicians to business people, actors, comedians and sports people.

The page on display shows the signatures of actors, Vanessa Redgrave and Franco Nero, who were awarded honorary degrees of Doctor of Letters in 2011, in recognition of their outstanding service to the arts.

Return to Discovery Trail

Copyright © Brunel University London 2015

Brunel University London, Kingston Lane, Uxbridge, UB8 3PH